Film Review: Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge

Pirates of the Caribbean has received mixed reviews, with a low score on Rotten Tomatoes I was really skeptical of how good it was going to be. I wasn’t impressed with the previous instalments of ‘At World’s End’ and ‘On Stranger Tides’, so I didn’t think I would enjoy no.5 as much as I did.

It moved away from the serious aspect of the franchise and was filled with more jokes and slap stick comedy. It was a refreshing change and didn’t bother me too much. Parts had me jump out of my skin and the segment with the guillotine made me feel uneasy, but at the same time I found it hilarious. I didn’t know whether to be sick or laugh (or just do both).

The characters were likeable with some old favourites returning to our screens. Our villain Salazar had some groovy CGI work with the effect of his hair looking like it was underwater was really impressive. Furthermore, the editing of young Jack Sparrow (played by Anthony De La Torre) was interesting, but a little bit creepy because you knew it was fake, but it was high in quality.

I had no issues with the plot, there were a few things which I predicted before the big reveal, but that is common in so many films. The ending seemed a bit of a cop-out in terms of Will and Elizabeth’s cameo. It wasn’t really necessary and I would have liked to see something else for an ending involving an adventure or just something more exciting.

If this was to be the last instalment of the franchise I would be happy with it, however, talks have been sparked about a final sixth film. Personally, I would leave it at this one. With all notable characters apart from Jack out of the picture it would be a challenge to make another film to a high standard like the rest.

Leave a Reply

