Film Review: The Man From U.N.C.L.E

Pretty much all my film reviews are positive with small bits of criticism, however, I enjoyed The Man From U.N.C.L.E so much I can’t think of anything bad to say about it. It was a refreshing reboot of the TV series which was created back in the late 1960’s. Before seeing the film, I hadn’t even seen the trailer or known of its existence at all. The only reason I went to see it was because my Dad remembered the TV series as a child. He just told me it’s a spy film.

Screen Shot 2015-08-28 at 16.19.36

Well, it was more than just a spy film. It had a great mixture of action, comedy and drama. Even the plot twist towards the end was a surprise for me, even though it’s such a simple generic twist; I really wasn’t expecting it. I loved Henry Cavill as Napoleon Solo, an American spy who is light-fingered and ridiculously charming. Armie Hammer was equally as cool in his portrayal of Russian spy Illya Kuryakin. A hot head and super-human when it comes to physical tasks. While an odd combination and previously enemies the pairing is perfect. Both Solo and Kuryakin acted like children towards each-other, as they were constantly trying to out do each other with their spyware and expert knowledge. This rivalry between them proved to be really funny and it worked perfectly. The plot line never slowed down or got boring. I was sitting in the cinema with a constant smile of my face.

Screen Shot 2015-08-28 at 16.20.42

I loved all the characters including Gaby and the main villains of the storyline. The film generally had a classic action film feel to it, like it had come out of the 60’s when it was originally created. It was different and clever and definitely the best film I’ve seen all year. I personally think it will go under the radar at the box office and not catch the mainstream audiences attention. Which is a pity, since it’s better than some films that have come out this summer. I hope there is a sequel or something made from this!

Also to top off how brilliant and fun this film is they tweeted me a rather fabulous GIF.

Leave a Reply

